Nursing Programs in North Carolina
Every accredited nursing program in North Carolina, from two-year ADN at community colleges to four-year BSN at flagship universities. Tuition, completion rate, and ownership pulled weekly from federal data.
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
All accredited programs in North Carolina
| Alamance Community College | Graham, NC | $2,592 | Public | 39% |
| Appalachian State University | Boone, NC | $7,579 | Public | 75% |
| Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College | Asheville, NC | $2,882 | Public | 40% |
| Barton College | Wilson, NC | $37,250 | Private non-profit | 46% |
| Beaufort County Community College | Washington, NC | $2,540 | Public | 48% |
| Belmont Abbey College | Belmont, NC | $19,500 | Private non-profit | 47% |
| Bladen Community College | Dublin, NC | $2,618 | Public | 23% |
| Blue Ridge Community College | Flat Rock, NC | $2,660 | Public | 50% |
| Brunswick Community College | Bolivia, NC | $2,553 | Public | 40% |
| Cabarrus College of Health Sciences | Concord, NC | $16,550 | Private non-profit | 71% |
| Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute | Hudson, NC | $2,526 | Public | 45% |
| Campbell University | Buies Creek, NC | $41,600 | Private non-profit | 61% |
| Cape Fear Community College | Wilmington, NC | $2,748 | Public | 34% |
| Carolinas College of Health Sciences | Charlotte, NC | $18,882 | Public | 100% |
| Carteret Community College | Morehead City, NC | $2,310 | Public | 49% |
| Catawba College | Salisbury, NC | $34,300 | Private non-profit | 47% |
| Catawba Valley Community College | Hickory, NC | $2,427 | Public | 35% |
| Central Carolina Community College | Sanford, NC | $2,711 | Public | 43% |
| Central Piedmont Community College | Charlotte, NC | $2,792 | Public | 31% |
| Chamberlain University-North Carolina | Charlotte, NC | $20,785 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Cleveland Community College | Shelby, NC | $2,602 | Public | 32% |
| Coastal Carolina Community College | Jacksonville, NC | $2,512 | Public | 49% |
| College of the Albemarle | Elizabeth City, NC | $2,242 | Public | 35% |
| Craven Community College | New Bern, NC | $2,022 | Public | 48% |
| Davidson-Davie Community College | Thomasville, NC | $1,980 | Public | 46% |
| Duke University | Durham, NC | $68,758 | Private non-profit | 97% |
| Durham Technical Community College | Durham, NC | $1,986 | Public | 45% |
| East Carolina University | Greenville, NC | $7,361 | Public | 63% |
| Edgecombe Community College | Tarboro, NC | $2,640 | Public | 37% |
| Elon University | Elon, NC | $46,958 | Private non-profit | 84% |
| Fayetteville State University | Fayetteville, NC | $4,353 | Public | 38% |
| Fayetteville Technical Community College | Fayetteville, NC | $2,628 | Public | 24% |
| Forsyth Technical Community College | Winston-Salem, NC | $2,276 | Public | 34% |
| Galen Health Institutes-Asheville | Asheville, NC | $17,048 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Gardner-Webb University | Boiling Springs, NC | $34,760 | Private non-profit | 55% |
| Gaston College | Dallas, NC | $3,186 | Public | 63% |
| Guilford Technical Community College | Jamestown, NC | $2,320 | Public | 31% |
| Halifax Community College | Weldon, NC | $2,608 | Public | 35% |
| Haywood Community College | Clyde, NC | $2,580 | Public | 34% |
| High Point University | High Point, NC | $45,312 | Private non-profit | 74% |
| Isothermal Community College | Spindale, NC | $2,030 | Public | 55% |
| James Sprunt Community College | Kenansville, NC | $2,592 | Public | 48% |
| Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte | Charlotte, NC | $42,419 | Private non-profit | 49% |
| Johnston Community College | Smithfield, NC | $2,756 | Public | 37% |
| Lees-McRae College | Banner Elk, NC | $33,250 | Private non-profit | 42% |
| Lenoir Community College | Kinston, NC | $2,578 | Public | 36% |
| Lenoir-Rhyne University | Hickory, NC | $31,900 | Private non-profit | 48% |
| Mars Hill University | Mars Hill, NC | $37,736 | Private non-profit | 45% |
| Mayland Community College | Spruce Pine, NC | $2,626 | Public | 46% |
| McDowell Technical Community College | Marion, NC | $2,032 | Public | 48% |
| Methodist University | Fayetteville, NC | $41,250 | Private non-profit | 44% |
| Mitchell Community College | Statesville, NC | $2,641 | Public | 28% |
| Montgomery Community College | Troy, NC | $2,538 | Public | 84% |
| Nash Community College | Rocky Mount, NC | $2,866 | Public | 41% |
| North Carolina A & T State University | Greensboro, NC | $6,813 | Public | 57% |
| North Carolina Central University | Durham, NC | $6,699 | Public | 42% |
| North Carolina Wesleyan University | Rocky Mount, NC | $35,736 | Private non-profit | 42% |
| Pfeiffer University | Misenheimer, NC | $35,070 | Private non-profit | 35% |
| Piedmont Community College | Roxboro, NC | $2,556 | Public | 20% |
| Pitt Community College | Winterville, NC | $2,580 | Public | 35% |
| Queens University of Charlotte | Charlotte, NC | $45,846 | Private non-profit | 61% |
| Randolph Community College | Asheboro, NC | $2,416 | Public | 58% |
| Richmond Community College | Hamlet, NC | $1,956 | Public | 46% |
| Roanoke-Chowan Community College | Ahoskie, NC | $2,642 | Public | 37% |
| Robeson Community College | Lumberton, NC | $2,581 | Public | 33% |
| Rockingham Community College | Wentworth, NC | $1,966 | Public | 35% |
| Rowan-Cabarrus Community College | Salisbury, NC | $2,064 | Public | 35% |
| Sampson Community College | Clinton, NC | $2,877 | Public | 56% |
| Sandhills Community College | Pinehurst, NC | $2,040 | Public | 53% |
| South Piedmont Community College | Polkton, NC | $2,022 | Public | 38% |
| South University-High Point | High Point, NC | $18,145 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Southeastern Community College | Whiteville, NC | $2,600 | Public | 43% |
| Southwestern Community College | Sylva, NC | $4,112 | Public | 53% |
| Stanly Community College | Albemarle, NC | $2,672 | Public | 48% |
| Surry Community College | Dobson, NC | $2,668 | Public | 6% |
| Tri-County Community College | Murphy, NC | $2,636 | Public | 54% |
| University of Mount Olive | Mount Olive, NC | $27,366 | Private non-profit | 52% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | Chapel Hill, NC | $8,994 | Public | 91% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte | Charlotte, NC | $7,239 | Public | 69% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | Greensboro, NC | $7,661 | Public | 56% |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke | Pembroke, NC | $3,648 | Public | 44% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | Wilmington, NC | $7,277 | Public | 71% |
| Vance-Granville Community College | Henderson, NC | $1,944 | Public | 53% |
| Wake Forest University | Winston-Salem, NC | $67,642 | Private non-profit | 89% |
| Wake Technical Community College | Raleigh, NC | $2,254 | Public | 33% |
| Watts College of Nursing | Durham, NC | Not reported | Private non-profit | Not reported |
| Wayne Community College | Goldsboro, NC | $2,566 | Public | 49% |
| Western Carolina University | Cullowhee, NC | $4,630 | Public | 60% |
| Western Piedmont Community College | Morganton, NC | $2,650 | Public | 49% |
| Wilkes Community College | Wilkesboro, NC | $2,572 | Public | 55% |
| William Peace University | Raleigh, NC | $34,176 | Private non-profit | 45% |
| Wilson Community College | Wilson, NC | $2,572 | Public | 27% |
| Wingate University | Wingate, NC | $41,636 | Private non-profit | 46% |
| Winston-Salem State University | Winston-Salem, NC | $6,126 | Public | 47% |
Top-completion nursing programs in North Carolina
Programs ranked by federal completion rate. Every one is CCNE or ACEN accredited and verified in the IPEDS database.
Carolinas College of Health Sciences
Carolinas College of Health Sciences operates in Charlotte, NC as a public institution with in-state tuition around $18,882. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Duke University
Duke University operates in Durham, NC as a private non-profit institution with in-state tuition around $68,758. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill operates in Chapel Hill, NC as a public institution with in-state tuition around $8,994. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Wake Forest University
Wake Forest University operates in Winston-Salem, NC as a private non-profit institution with in-state tuition around $67,642. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Elon University
Elon University operates in Elon, NC as a private non-profit institution with in-state tuition around $46,958. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Becoming an RN in North Carolina
Every registered nurse practicing in North Carolina must hold an active license issued by North Carolina Board of Nursing. Licensure requires graduation from a board-approved nursing program, criminal background check, and passing score on the NCLEX-RN administered by Pearson VUE.
The full process from graduation to first shift on a North Carolina hospital floor typically takes 90 to 120 days. Read the complete step-by-step process, including application fees, endorsement rules, and Nurse Licensure Compact status, on the how-to-become-a-nurse guide.
Step-by-step processPaying for nursing school in North Carolina
North Carolina residents qualify for federal Pell grants, subsidized and unsubsidized Stafford loans, HRSA Nurse Corps loan forgiveness in high-need areas, state-specific nursing scholarships administered through North Carolina Board of Nursing or the North Carolina Department of Higher Education, and hospital tuition reimbursement programs offered by most major regional health systems.
Community college ADN programs are often fully covered by Pell grants for qualifying households. University BSN programs typically require a combination of grants, institutional aid, and Stafford loans. See the full aid guide for the exact programs and application timelines.
Financial aid guidePrefer to start online this month? North Carolina residents qualify for these programs.
Six CCNE-accredited online BSN and MSN programs with rolling admissions. Compare cost per credit, program length, and NCLEX pass rates in one table.