Nursing Programs in South Carolina
Every accredited nursing program in South Carolina, from two-year ADN at community colleges to four-year BSN at flagship universities. Tuition, completion rate, and ownership pulled weekly from federal data.
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
All accredited programs in South Carolina
| Aiken Technical College | Graniteville, SC | $5,174 | Public | 34% |
| Anderson University | Anderson, SC | $34,970 | Private non-profit | 66% |
| Bob Jones University | Greenville, SC | $24,470 | Private non-profit | 65% |
| Central Carolina Technical College | Sumter, SC | $5,715 | Public | 34% |
| Charleston Southern University | Charleston, SC | $32,520 | Private non-profit | 47% |
| Citadel Military College of South Carolina | Charleston, SC | $12,570 | Public | 75% |
| Claflin University | Orangeburg, SC | $18,282 | Private non-profit | 52% |
| Clemson University | Clemson, SC | $15,554 | Public | 87% |
| Coastal Carolina University | Conway, SC | $11,640 | Public | 48% |
| Coker University | Hartsville, SC | $33,416 | Private non-profit | 40% |
| Columbia College | Columbia, SC | $22,214 | Private non-profit | 37% |
| Columbia International University | Columbia, SC | $27,900 | Private non-profit | 47% |
| Florence-Darlington Technical College | Florence, SC | $4,636 | Public | 34% |
| Fortis College-Columbia | Columbia, SC | $14,777 | Private for-profit | 43% |
| Francis Marion University | Florence, SC | $11,160 | Public | 43% |
| Galen Health Institutes-Myrtle Beach | Myrtle Beach, SC | $16,364 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Greenville Technical College | Greenville, SC | $5,495 | Public | 21% |
| Horry-Georgetown Technical College | Conway, SC | $4,468 | Public | 38% |
| Lander University | Greenwood, SC | $11,700 | Public | 50% |
| Medical University of South Carolina | Charleston, SC | Not reported | Public | Not reported |
| Midlands Technical College | West Columbia, SC | $5,100 | Public | 18% |
| Newberry College | Newberry, SC | $31,100 | Private non-profit | 45% |
| Northeastern Technical College | Cheraw, SC | $5,664 | Public | 21% |
| Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College | Orangeburg, SC | $5,210 | Public | 32% |
| Piedmont Technical College | Greenwood, SC | $4,775 | Public | 33% |
| South Carolina State University | Orangeburg, SC | $11,060 | Public | 37% |
| South University-Columbia | Columbia, SC | $18,145 | Private for-profit | 23% |
| Southeastern College-Charleston | North Charleston, SC | $25,080 | Private for-profit | 67% |
| Southeastern College-Columbia | Columbia, SC | $25,080 | Private for-profit | 67% |
| Southern Wesleyan University | Central, SC | $29,800 | Private non-profit | 52% |
| Spartanburg Community College | Spartanburg, SC | $5,071 | Public | 28% |
| Technical College of the Lowcountry | Beaufort, SC | $6,156 | Public | 18% |
| Tri-County Technical College | Pendleton, SC | $4,448 | Public | 42% |
| Trident Technical College | Charleston, SC | $4,546 | Public | 30% |
| University of South Carolina Aiken | Aiken, SC | $10,760 | Public | 40% |
| University of South Carolina Beaufort | Bluffton, SC | $10,730 | Public | 34% |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia | Columbia, SC | $12,688 | Public | 79% |
| University of South Carolina-Lancaster | Lancaster, SC | $7,558 | Public | 25% |
| University of South Carolina-Upstate | Spartanburg, SC | $11,588 | Public | 43% |
| Williamsburg Technical College | Kingstree, SC | $4,488 | Public | 15% |
| York Technical College | Rock Hill, SC | $8,036 | Public | 30% |
Top-completion nursing programs in South Carolina
Programs ranked by federal completion rate. Every one is CCNE or ACEN accredited and verified in the IPEDS database.
Clemson University
Clemson University operates in Clemson, SC as a public institution with in-state tuition around $15,554. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
University of South Carolina-Columbia
University of South Carolina-Columbia operates in Columbia, SC as a public institution with in-state tuition around $12,688. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Citadel Military College of South Carolina
Citadel Military College of South Carolina operates in Charleston, SC as a public institution with in-state tuition around $12,570. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Southeastern College-Charleston
Southeastern College-Charleston operates in North Charleston, SC as a private for-profit institution with in-state tuition around $25,080. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Southeastern College-Columbia
Southeastern College-Columbia operates in Columbia, SC as a private for-profit institution with in-state tuition around $25,080. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Becoming an RN in South Carolina
Every registered nurse practicing in South Carolina must hold an active license issued by South Carolina Board of Nursing. Licensure requires graduation from a board-approved nursing program, criminal background check, and passing score on the NCLEX-RN administered by Pearson VUE.
The full process from graduation to first shift on a South Carolina hospital floor typically takes 90 to 120 days. Read the complete step-by-step process, including application fees, endorsement rules, and Nurse Licensure Compact status, on the how-to-become-a-nurse guide.
Step-by-step processPaying for nursing school in South Carolina
South Carolina residents qualify for federal Pell grants, subsidized and unsubsidized Stafford loans, HRSA Nurse Corps loan forgiveness in high-need areas, state-specific nursing scholarships administered through South Carolina Board of Nursing or the South Carolina Department of Higher Education, and hospital tuition reimbursement programs offered by most major regional health systems.
Community college ADN programs are often fully covered by Pell grants for qualifying households. University BSN programs typically require a combination of grants, institutional aid, and Stafford loans. See the full aid guide for the exact programs and application timelines.
Financial aid guidePrefer to start online this month? South Carolina residents qualify for these programs.
Six CCNE-accredited online BSN and MSN programs with rolling admissions. Compare cost per credit, program length, and NCLEX pass rates in one table.