Nursing Programs in Texas
Every accredited nursing program in Texas, from two-year ADN at community colleges to four-year BSN at flagship universities. Tuition, completion rate, and ownership pulled weekly from federal data.
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
All accredited programs in Texas
| Abilene Christian University | Abilene, TX | $44,200 | Private non-profit | 59% |
| Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online | Addison, TX | $14,520 | Private non-profit | Not reported |
| Alvin Community College | Alvin, TX | $1,906 | Public | 24% |
| Amarillo College | Amarillo, TX | $2,136 | Public | 32% |
| Angelina College | Lufkin, TX | $3,430 | Public | 29% |
| Angelo State University | San Angelo, TX | $8,460 | Public | 44% |
| Arizona College of Nursing-Dallas | Dallas, TX | $23,987 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Austin Community College District | Austin, TX | $2,550 | Public | 20% |
| Baptist Health System School of Health Professions | San Antonio, TX | $13,760 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Baylor College of Medicine | Houston, TX | Not reported | Private non-profit | Not reported |
| Baylor University | Waco, TX | $58,100 | Private non-profit | 80% |
| Blinn College District | Brenham, TX | $4,890 | Public | 11% |
| Brazosport College | Lake Jackson, TX | $2,388 | Public | 56% |
| Central Texas College | Killeen, TX | $3,750 | Public | 11% |
| Chamberlain University-Texas | Houston, TX | $20,380 | Private for-profit | 25% |
| Cisco College | Cisco, TX | $4,710 | Public | 30% |
| Clarendon College | Clarendon, TX | $3,720 | Public | 41% |
| Coastal Bend College | Beeville, TX | $2,916 | Public | 25% |
| College of the Mainland | Texas City, TX | $2,310 | Public | 31% |
| Collin County Community College District | McKinney, TX | $2,014 | Public | 20% |
| Concordia University Texas | Austin, TX | $23,500 | Private non-profit | 45% |
| Covenant School of Nursing and Allied Health | Lubbock, TX | Not reported | Private non-profit | Not reported |
| Dallas College | Dallas, TX | $2,730 | Public | 32% |
| Del Mar College | Corpus Christi, TX | $3,440 | Public | 11% |
| Denver College of Nursing-Houston | Houston, TX | Not reported | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| East Texas A&M University | Commerce, TX | $10,026 | Public | 43% |
| East Texas Baptist University | Marshall, TX | $30,680 | Private non-profit | 47% |
| El Paso Community College | El Paso, TX | $4,080 | Public | 24% |
| Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio | San Antonio, TX | $17,048 | Private for-profit | 81% |
| Galen Health Institutes-Austin Campus | Round Rock, TX | $17,048 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Galen Health Institutes-Dallas | Richardson, TX | $17,048 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Galen Health Institutes-Houston | Houston, TX | $17,048 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Galveston College | Galveston, TX | $2,726 | Public | 33% |
| Grayson College | Denison, TX | $3,052 | Public | 40% |
| Hallmark University | San Antonio, TX | Not reported | Private non-profit | 66% |
| Hardin-Simmons University | Abilene, TX | $32,960 | Private non-profit | 46% |
| Hill College | Hillsboro, TX | $3,570 | Public | 32% |
| Houston Christian University | Houston, TX | $39,430 | Private non-profit | 49% |
| Houston City College | Houston, TX | $2,040 | Public | 17% |
| Howard College | Big Spring, TX | $2,766 | Public | 35% |
| Howard Payne University | Brownwood, TX | $34,982 | Private non-profit | 28% |
| Jacksonville College-Main Campus | Jacksonville, TX | $8,850 | Private non-profit | 33% |
| Kilgore College | Kilgore, TX | $2,160 | Public | 39% |
| Lamar State College-Orange | Orange, TX | $3,540 | Public | 37% |
| Lamar State College-Port Arthur | Port Arthur, TX | $1,770 | Public | 45% |
| Lamar University | Beaumont, TX | $8,905 | Public | 37% |
| Laredo College | Laredo, TX | $3,300 | Public | 30% |
| Lee College | Baytown, TX | $2,520 | Public | 53% |
| LeTourneau University | Longview, TX | $37,160 | Private non-profit | 59% |
| Lone Star College System | The Woodlands, TX | $3,330 | Public | 21% |
| Lubbock Christian University | Lubbock, TX | $28,540 | Private non-profit | 51% |
| McLennan Community College | Waco, TX | $3,660 | Public | 39% |
| McMurry University | Abilene, TX | $32,340 | Private non-profit | 44% |
| Midland College | Midland, TX | $3,180 | Public | 23% |
| Midwestern State University | Wichita Falls, TX | $10,580 | Public | 43% |
| Navarro College | Corsicana, TX | $3,008 | Public | 23% |
| North Central Texas College | Gainesville, TX | $3,600 | Public | 35% |
| Northeast Texas Community College | Mount Pleasant, TX | $2,980 | Public | 56% |
| Northwest Vista College | San Antonio, TX | $3,412 | Public | 32% |
| Odessa College | Odessa, TX | $2,688 | Public | 37% |
| Panola College | Carthage, TX | $2,352 | Public | 43% |
| Paris Junior College | Paris, TX | $2,700 | Public | 38% |
| Prairie View A & M University | Prairie View, TX | $11,299 | Public | 43% |
| Ranger College | Ranger, TX | $2,766 | Public | 19% |
| Rio Grande Valley College | Pharr, TX | Not reported | Private for-profit | 72% |
| Saint Edward's University | Austin, TX | $51,384 | Private non-profit | 63% |
| Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, TX | $9,228 | Public | 55% |
| San Antonio College | San Antonio, TX | $3,412 | Public | 26% |
| San Jacinto Community College | Pasadena, TX | $2,490 | Public | 30% |
| Schreiner University | Kerrville, TX | $39,266 | Private non-profit | 43% |
| South Plains College | Levelland, TX | $2,731 | Public | 29% |
| South Texas College | McAllen, TX | $4,920 | Public | 27% |
| South University-Austin | Round Rock, TX | $18,145 | Private for-profit | 0% |
| Southwest Texas College | Uvalde, TX | $2,646 | Public | 31% |
| Southwest University at El Paso | El Paso, TX | $16,000 | Private for-profit | 59% |
| Southwestern Adventist University | Keene, TX | $25,380 | Private non-profit | 52% |
| St Philip's College | San Antonio, TX | $3,412 | Public | 28% |
| Stephen F Austin State University | Nacogdoches, TX | $11,128 | Public | 53% |
| Sul Ross State University | Alpine, TX | $7,592 | Public | 30% |
| Tarleton State University | Stephenville, TX | $8,302 | Public | 48% |
| Tarrant County College District | Fort Worth, TX | $1,863 | Public | 34% |
| Temple College | Temple, TX | $3,000 | Public | 32% |
| Texarkana College | Texarkana, TX | $2,476 | Public | 47% |
| Texas A & M International University | Laredo, TX | $7,894 | Public | 46% |
| Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi | Corpus Christi, TX | $9,748 | Public | 40% |
| Texas A&M University-Central Texas | Killeen, TX | $7,363 | Public | Not reported |
| Texas A&M University-College Station | College Station, TX | $13,154 | Public | 84% |
| Texas A&M University-Texarkana | Texarkana, TX | $8,349 | Public | 30% |
| Texas A&M University-Victoria | Victoria, TX | $7,149 | Public | 26% |
| Texas Christian University | Fort Worth, TX | $61,740 | Private non-profit | 86% |
| Texas Lutheran University | Seguin, TX | $36,230 | Private non-profit | 54% |
| Texas Southmost College | Brownsville, TX | $3,148 | Public | 30% |
| Texas State Technical College | Waco, TX | $7,212 | Public | 46% |
| Texas State University | San Marcos, TX | $11,450 | Public | 55% |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center | Lubbock, TX | Not reported | Public | Not reported |
| Texas Tech University Health Scienes Center El Paso | El Paso, TX | Not reported | Public | Not reported |
| Texas Wesleyan University | Fort Worth, TX | $39,582 | Private non-profit | 32% |
| Texas Woman's University | Denton, TX | $8,640 | Public | 49% |
| The Chicago School-College of Nursing | Richardson, TX | Not reported | Private non-profit | 25% |
| The College of Health Care Professions-Northwest | Houston, TX | Not reported | Private for-profit | 47% |
| The University of Texas at Arlington | Arlington, TX | $11,950 | Public | 54% |
| The University of Texas at Austin | Austin, TX | $11,688 | Public | 89% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso | El Paso, TX | $9,744 | Public | 50% |
| The University of Texas at Tyler | Tyler, TX | $9,736 | Public | 54% |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston | Houston, TX | Not reported | Public | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio | San Antonio, TX | Not reported | Public | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston | Galveston, TX | Not reported | Public | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Permian Basin | Odessa, TX | $9,236 | Public | 40% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley | Edinburg, TX | $9,987 | Public | 51% |
| Trinity Valley Community College | Athens, TX | $2,640 | Public | 27% |
| Tyler Junior College | Tyler, TX | $2,400 | Public | 27% |
| University of Houston | Houston, TX | $9,717 | Public | 65% |
| University of Houston-Clear Lake | Houston, TX | $7,770 | Public | 52% |
| University of Houston-Downtown | Houston, TX | $7,708 | Public | 33% |
| University of Mary Hardin-Baylor | Belton, TX | $32,020 | Private non-profit | 49% |
| University of St Thomas | Houston, TX | $34,634 | Private non-profit | 69% |
| University of the Incarnate Word | San Antonio, TX | $37,090 | Private non-profit | 51% |
| Vernon College | Vernon, TX | $3,720 | Public | 21% |
| Victoria College | Victoria, TX | $2,976 | Public | 29% |
| Wayland Baptist University | Plainview, TX | $23,782 | Private non-profit | 19% |
| Weatherford College | Weatherford, TX | $5,250 | Public | 35% |
| West Coast University-Texas | Richardson, TX | $36,854 | Private for-profit | 31% |
| West Texas A & M University | Canyon, TX | $9,101 | Public | 55% |
| Western Technical College | El Paso, TX | Not reported | Private for-profit | 72% |
| Western Texas College | Snyder, TX | $3,300 | Public | 53% |
| Wharton County Junior College | Wharton, TX | $3,192 | Public | 27% |
Top-completion nursing programs in Texas
Programs ranked by federal completion rate. Every one is CCNE or ACEN accredited and verified in the IPEDS database.
The University of Texas at Austin
The University of Texas at Austin operates in Austin, TX as a public institution with in-state tuition around $11,688. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Texas Christian University
Texas Christian University operates in Fort Worth, TX as a private non-profit institution with in-state tuition around $61,740. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Texas A&M University-College Station
Texas A&M University-College Station operates in College Station, TX as a public institution with in-state tuition around $13,154. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio
Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio operates in San Antonio, TX as a private for-profit institution with in-state tuition around $17,048. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Baylor University
Baylor University operates in Waco, TX as a private non-profit institution with in-state tuition around $58,100. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Becoming an RN in Texas
Every registered nurse practicing in Texas must hold an active license issued by Texas Board of Nursing. Licensure requires graduation from a board-approved nursing program, criminal background check, and passing score on the NCLEX-RN administered by Pearson VUE.
The full process from graduation to first shift on a Texas hospital floor typically takes 90 to 120 days. Read the complete step-by-step process, including application fees, endorsement rules, and Nurse Licensure Compact status, on the how-to-become-a-nurse guide.
Step-by-step processPaying for nursing school in Texas
Texas residents qualify for federal Pell grants, subsidized and unsubsidized Stafford loans, HRSA Nurse Corps loan forgiveness in high-need areas, state-specific nursing scholarships administered through Texas Board of Nursing or the Texas Department of Higher Education, and hospital tuition reimbursement programs offered by most major regional health systems.
Community college ADN programs are often fully covered by Pell grants for qualifying households. University BSN programs typically require a combination of grants, institutional aid, and Stafford loans. See the full aid guide for the exact programs and application timelines.
Financial aid guidePrefer to start online this month? Texas residents qualify for these programs.
Six CCNE-accredited online BSN and MSN programs with rolling admissions. Compare cost per credit, program length, and NCLEX pass rates in one table.