Nursing Programs in Virginia
Every accredited nursing program in Virginia, from two-year ADN at community colleges to four-year BSN at flagship universities. Tuition, completion rate, and ownership pulled weekly from federal data.
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
All accredited programs in Virginia
| American National University | Salem, VA | $10,961 | Private for-profit | 33% |
| Arizona College of Nursing-Falls Church | Falls Church, VA | $24,413 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Averett University | Danville, VA | $38,550 | Private non-profit | 48% |
| Blue Ridge Community College | Weyers Cave, VA | $5,646 | Public | 40% |
| Bluefield University | Bluefield, VA | $26,770 | Private non-profit | 18% |
| Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing | Richmond, VA | Not reported | Private non-profit | Not reported |
| Brightpoint Community College | Chester, VA | $5,082 | Public | 38% |
| Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach | Virginia Beach, VA | $18,489 | Private non-profit | 24% |
| Centra College | Lynchburg, VA | $12,983 | Private non-profit | 100% |
| Central Virginia Community College | Lynchburg, VA | $5,157 | Public | 45% |
| Chamberlain University-Virginia | Vienna, VA | $20,785 | Private for-profit | 100% |
| Danville Community College | Danville, VA | $4,992 | Public | 39% |
| Eastern Mennonite University | Harrisonburg, VA | $43,920 | Private non-profit | 67% |
| Eastern Virginia Career College | Fredericksburg, VA | Not reported | Private for-profit | 66% |
| ECPI University | Virginia Beach, VA | $18,484 | Private for-profit | 42% |
| Emory & Henry University | Emory, VA | $39,000 | Private non-profit | 56% |
| Ferrum College | Ferrum, VA | $28,520 | Private non-profit | 32% |
| Fortis College-Norfolk | Norfolk, VA | $14,801 | Private for-profit | 30% |
| Fortis College-Richmond | Richmond, VA | $15,688 | Private for-profit | 50% |
| Galen Health Institutes-Richmond | Richmond, VA | $16,364 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| Galen Health Institutes-Roanoke | Roanoke, VA | $16,364 | Private for-profit | Not reported |
| George Mason University | Fairfax, VA | $14,220 | Public | 68% |
| Germanna Community College | Locust Grove, VA | $5,257 | Public | 46% |
| Hampton University | Hampton, VA | $30,592 | Private non-profit | 57% |
| J Sargeant Reynolds Community College | Richmond, VA | $5,280 | Public | 32% |
| James Madison University | Harrisonburg, VA | $14,250 | Public | 80% |
| Laurel Ridge Community College | Middletown, VA | $5,072 | Public | 45% |
| Liberty University | Lynchburg, VA | $22,465 | Private non-profit | 65% |
| Longwood University | Farmville, VA | $15,744 | Public | 61% |
| Mary Baldwin University | Staunton, VA | $34,152 | Private non-profit | 39% |
| Marymount University | Arlington, VA | $40,920 | Private non-profit | 54% |
| Mountain Empire Community College | Big Stone Gap, VA | $5,007 | Public | 48% |
| Mountain Gateway Community College | Clifton Forge, VA | $5,022 | Public | 38% |
| New River Community College | Dublin, VA | $4,979 | Public | 50% |
| Norfolk State University | Norfolk, VA | $10,180 | Public | 39% |
| Northern Virginia Community College | Annandale, VA | $5,891 | Public | 33% |
| Old Dominion University | Norfolk, VA | $12,750 | Public | 46% |
| Patrick & Henry Community College | Martinsville, VA | $5,002 | Public | 42% |
| Paul D Camp Community College | Franklin, VA | $5,012 | Public | 36% |
| Piedmont Virginia Community College | Charlottesville, VA | $5,072 | Public | 39% |
| Radford University | Radford, VA | $12,548 | Public | 49% |
| Randolph-Macon College | Ashland, VA | $49,466 | Private non-profit | 70% |
| Rappahannock Community College | Glenns, VA | $5,102 | Public | 45% |
| Regent University | Virginia Beach, VA | $21,650 | Private non-profit | 57% |
| Riverside College of Health Sciences | Newport News, VA | $17,250 | Private non-profit | 100% |
| Sentara College of Health Sciences | Chesapeake, VA | Not reported | Private non-profit | Not reported |
| Shenandoah University | Winchester, VA | $36,950 | Private non-profit | 67% |
| South University-Richmond | Glen Allen, VA | $18,145 | Private for-profit | 42% |
| South University-Virginia Beach | Virginia Beach, VA | $18,145 | Private for-profit | 8% |
| Southside College of Health Sciences | Colonial Heights, VA | Not reported | Private non-profit | Not reported |
| Southside Virginia Community College | Alberta, VA | $5,007 | Public | 42% |
| Southwest Virginia Community College | Cedar Bluff, VA | $5,075 | Public | 46% |
| Standard Healthcare Services-College of Nursing | Falls Church, VA | Not reported | Private for-profit | 66% |
| Strayer University-Virginia | Arlington, VA | $13,920 | Private for-profit | 36% |
| Tidewater Community College | Norfolk, VA | $5,588 | Public | 32% |
| University of Lynchburg | Lynchburg, VA | $36,750 | Private non-profit | 57% |
| University of Mary Washington | Fredericksburg, VA | $14,640 | Public | 66% |
| University of Virginia-Main Campus | Charlottesville, VA | $21,803 | Public | 96% |
| University of Virginia's College at Wise | Wise, VA | $11,780 | Public | 47% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | Richmond, VA | $16,945 | Public | 63% |
| Virginia Highlands Community College | Abingdon, VA | $5,022 | Public | 40% |
| Virginia Peninsula Community College | Hampton, VA | $5,088 | Public | 34% |
| Virginia State University | Petersburg, VA | $10,043 | Public | 39% |
| Virginia Western Community College | Roanoke, VA | $5,400 | Public | 40% |
| Wytheville Community College | Wytheville, VA | $5,007 | Public | 47% |
Top-completion nursing programs in Virginia
Programs ranked by federal completion rate. Every one is CCNE or ACEN accredited and verified in the IPEDS database.
Centra College
Centra College operates in Lynchburg, VA as a private non-profit institution with in-state tuition around $12,983. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Riverside College of Health Sciences
Riverside College of Health Sciences operates in Newport News, VA as a private non-profit institution with in-state tuition around $17,250. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Chamberlain University-Virginia
Chamberlain University-Virginia operates in Vienna, VA as a private for-profit institution with in-state tuition around $20,785. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
University of Virginia-Main Campus
University of Virginia-Main Campus operates in Charlottesville, VA as a public institution with in-state tuition around $21,803. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
James Madison University
James Madison University operates in Harrisonburg, VA as a public institution with in-state tuition around $14,250. The program is accredited and verified in the federal IPEDS database.
Becoming an RN in Virginia
Every registered nurse practicing in Virginia must hold an active license issued by Virginia Board of Nursing. Licensure requires graduation from a board-approved nursing program, criminal background check, and passing score on the NCLEX-RN administered by Pearson VUE.
The full process from graduation to first shift on a Virginia hospital floor typically takes 90 to 120 days. Read the complete step-by-step process, including application fees, endorsement rules, and Nurse Licensure Compact status, on the how-to-become-a-nurse guide.
Step-by-step processPaying for nursing school in Virginia
Virginia residents qualify for federal Pell grants, subsidized and unsubsidized Stafford loans, HRSA Nurse Corps loan forgiveness in high-need areas, state-specific nursing scholarships administered through Virginia Board of Nursing or the Virginia Department of Higher Education, and hospital tuition reimbursement programs offered by most major regional health systems.
Community college ADN programs are often fully covered by Pell grants for qualifying households. University BSN programs typically require a combination of grants, institutional aid, and Stafford loans. See the full aid guide for the exact programs and application timelines.
Financial aid guidePrefer to start online this month? Virginia residents qualify for these programs.
Six CCNE-accredited online BSN and MSN programs with rolling admissions. Compare cost per credit, program length, and NCLEX pass rates in one table.